Foosball.com
 
 

Questions to the Expert HOME   Next

Time out, reaching in to touch ball...
Comments in (blue) are done by our staff to remark on the section/sentence preceding it.

1. I barely have the ball with my 5 bar. I am afraid of losing it to the opponents 3 bar. I call time out. Can I pick the ball up (No) from the table and reset it anywhere on my 5 bar or do I have to leave the ball as is when I called time out?
Ken H.

Answer

1. Per the rules of time out, section 10, the ball must be "returned to its original position"... This is interpreted to mean, if the ball is in such a position as to make it difficult to be sure to get it back into the original position, then the ball can not be touched. So if it is perched on the goal, or barely within your grasp, then you can not move it. You must have 'clear' control of the ball before you can touch it. While officiating a match, a team requested a new ball (see rule 17) while the ball was barely in their control. I told them they could, but first they had to demonstrate they could move the ball between two men on the same rod in control. They could not, so they lost the ball eventually. HINT: If the ball is perched on the goal, don't call timeout, you are doomed if you do, just let the 15 seconds run out and let the other team serve the ball. If you call timeout, you will then have to touch two men with the ball, that will prove impossible.

Questions to the Expert HOME   Next