Foosball.com Forums

One Man Goalie

One Man Goalie
« on: February 18, 2010, 06:39:09 AM »
I am new to this board.  I intend to purchase a new Tornado T3000 Coin-op within the next (3) months.  However, I have been doing some research, and the (1) man goalie Vs the (3) man goalie has me scratching my head.  I started playing foosball in the 70's when there was only (1) man goalie with the large corner embankments.  I played in many amateur tournaments in the Houston area.  I remember my Dad use to refer to it as foolsball.  I understand the argument for having (3) man goalies, but it is my understanding that the ITSF has made a ruling to go with a (1) man goalie.  I am confused because when I look at the (1) man goalie tables, e.g. the Warrior tables shown in the attached video of the Hawaiian Open, there is no large corner embankments. 

My Question:  Short of re-positioning the ball with your hand, with a (1) man goalie and no large corner embankments, how does a player get the ball out of the corner dead zones?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxU2EfScRuo

Offline GeneT

Re: One Man Goalie
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 07:58:00 AM »
The corners are banked,  just not as steep as the old tables.  The ball has several spots where it will be out of reach of the men.  You have to reposition the ball, and do a ready check to start play.  I kind of like the 3 man goal rod, but we are foosball players and have to play on what table they set up.  If i was buying a table I would get the Tornado,  or you could get both,  the Warrior is not expensive.

Offline snake eyes

• Carpe De Foos
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 09:59:31 AM »