Foosball.com Forums

Your story

Your story
« on: July 29, 2010, 09:40:47 PM »
I thought I was unique in my story about coming back to the game, part of it is, I suppose, but really a similar story to many of us "old schoolers". We loved the game in the 70's. Learned to play in a bar or student union in college. We thought we were good and maybe entered a tour tournament or two which focused us. About the time we figured we were ready for all comers it all died. Now 25-30 years later we are trying to live that long ago dream and loving it. How many relate to that and where are you now? In the last month or two I have beaten two on the top 100 in the country and am pinching myself, life is good,,, :D

Re: Your story
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2010, 10:49:44 PM »
Well, I only started playing in '88, but it was Fraternity play on old school tables, Hurricane and TS, at RPI in Troy, NY. I was good, but I never knew that there were serious tournaments until much later. I wasn't even introduced to Tornado until about 10 years ago. After moving back to Florida for a few years, I went to grad school at UNC('95-'01) and got introduced to Bonzini. I played in a few state tourneys and did alright. I met some players who have been the bomb on Bonzini for a long time, Bruce Nardoci, Jimmy Little, Jimmy Paris, among others, and have been dedicated to becoming better ever since. That was 13 yrs ago and I'm still just semi-pro if that. One thing I've learned that is most important is I have to develop a great 5-man. The 5-man is key and will open up everything else in your game. I'm finally buying a professional foosball table(Fireball). Couldn't afford a Bonzini and not really big on Tornado. I think Fireball will be a good blend, and an excellent table for me to develop a 5-man, experiment with the pulls and rollovers, but also continue to develop my backpins and even my less professional banks for fun. I'm playing in a lot more tourneys now, and just had my first Tourney win, even