Foosball.com Forums

Ball refurbishing

Ball refurbishing
« on: July 01, 2011, 01:01:42 PM »
Hi all,

I'm still somewhat new to the foosball scene, just picked up a table about 6 months ago.  I purchased some of the 5 hour Tornado balls from this sight, but they're getting pretty worn already.  I know the local tourament director in my area sell foosballs and offers free life time refurbishing, but I didn't purchase mine from him. 

I'm wondering if anyone has advice on the best way to bring the balls back to newer condition?

Offline bbtuna

• TS, Dynamo, Tornado, Warrior, & Fireball
Re: Ball refurbishing
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2011, 03:14:00 AM »
1.  soak in as hot water as you can get out of the tap, dish soap, and ammonia until water is cool
2.  drain and fill again with hot water and some more dish soap...water hot but not so hot you can't touch it (basicly rinsing the ammonia out)
3.  Get a 3M Green Pad (from grocery store or hardware)
4.  scrub each one carefully and set them aside until dry
5.  then use 40 grit sandpaper and carefully scrub the surface bringing up the nap

the soak and green scrub will make them look like new and they will play better but the sandpaper part is needed to bring the nap all the way back...it takes some finesse to get a cut of sandpaper that will wrap around the ball about 3/4 of the way so you can cradle it in there, sort of like hugging it, otherwise you may create flat spots...you will be taking a little of the surface off which will be evident from the pink dust but you will also bring up a good nap with the 40 grit