Foosball.com Forums

Italian Foosball?

Italian Foosball?
« on: November 08, 2011, 09:14:56 PM »
I am a rookie fooser only been playing about 2 years. I play on a Tornado table with American rules; however, I recently whent to Italy and I played Foosball with my Italian friend. And they got some weird Foosball rules where you can only score by banking and you can't do passes not the mention the table we played on was terrible. 

My friend and I were arguing on which are the official world rules and which table is more recognized around the world and he kept insisting Italian Foosball rules are more recognized around the world.  I don't think that's the case. American Foosball seems more technical like real soccer to me,  where as Italian Foosball is too fast and seems like it's all luck since the ball is flying all over the place. I know there is some skill involved in it also but it does not seem that way to me. At least that's my opinion.

So I was wondering what you guys and gals  thought about this?

Re: Italian Foosball?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2011, 03:07:14 AM »
I think I can help you with this - I lived in North America for many years and now live close to Italy and I play.  In North America, Tornado tables are obviously very popular.  In Canada, where I lived, before the intoduction of Tornado tables (around 1987-1988) bars and pubs were mostly populated with the Italian made FABI or Garlando tables.  Sons of Italian immigrants in Canada played mostly Italian style rules - 'no passing or dragging' (no push/pull kicks), no dinks, no pinning, no snaking, etc.  In Italy they still play by these rules.  Italians will SWEAR that those are the proper rules.  In fact you can go on youtube and finds clips of Collignon matches with comments by Italians (in Italian) saying what a bad player he is because of all the passing and stopping of the ball (go figure).