Foosball.com Forums

who is the greatest ?

who is the greatest ?
« on: July 14, 2006, 02:34:41 AM »
I am a big fanatic of the game and i am quite good but i would not say that i am the greatest bcoz i have not played the game for long and i only started playing lastyear but since then i have being hooked on the game, i also enjoy watching other foosers play the game and have seen some really good players.

But my big question is " WHO IS THE BEST IN THE WORLD?" and if there is someone, how does the ranking take place and by who ?

let me know, I am reallly interested.    

Offline SumnerH

• No spinning, have fun!
Re: who is the greatest ?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2006, 06:45:28 PM »
But my big question is " WHO IS THE BEST IN THE WORLD?" and if there is someone, how does the ranking take place and by who ?

There are international points rankings, national points rankings, and results at majors to go by.  Both ranking systems have major flaws (the international rankings ignore many US results and give equal credit to, say, the winner of the Austrian or Canadian national title as to the winner of the UK, German, or US title).

I think almost everyone would rank Belgian player Frederico Collignon as the best player in the world right now.  Other top players include Billy Pappas, Tony Spredeman, and Terry Moore (all from the USA).

The US rankings are maintained by the US Table Soccer Association and can be viewed at:
http://www.vifa.com if you click on "USTSA Points Book".

But those rankings don't coincide with the consensus best players exactly; for instance, Frederico doesn't play in all the US events so he's only ranked 4th despite having by far the most major titles in the last 7 years.

Todd Loffredo is probably the best player ever, and still a big-time threat, but nowadays he's playing much more goalie (mostly with Frederico) although he still has some singles success.

Terry Moore was the dominant player in the 1990s and still one of the biggest threats.