Foosball.com Forums

Looking for used rods Tornado

Looking for used rods Tornado
« on: August 11, 2015, 02:11:10 PM »
Im new to the game but I picked up an older Brown Marble table. Its the older table with the larger metal feet but more importantly it has the players that are bolted on (not with the pins).

When I bought the table I just thought I could replace the guys with newer better ones but obviously the rods arent compatible with the pins. I dont want to spend 250 on rods and over 100 on men.

Im willing to buy any tornado rod set that uses pins and are compatible with the new style men. I dont even mind if they are off the home versions like twister or sport. (Im guessing  those will work on the BM tables right?)

Please contact me or shoot me someones email that I can write to track down some used rods.

Thanks!

Ryan

Re: Looking for used rods Tornado
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2015, 04:03:33 PM »
Don't mean to hijack this but Ouch...sounds like someone pulled a fast one on ya... hope you didn't pay too much for that table; rods are so critical of a consideration when buying used tables.  Is your cabinet in good shape at least, is it a coinop?  Although old, brown marbles are generally a nice tough table overall and worthy of upgrades if in good condition...  I did not hesitate to fully upgrade mine.  It's 30years old and is better than some of the platinum tables I play on now.

If you live in a big city area, I would probably consider reselling it and/or combine another used table to get what you want and sell the rest.  If you live in a less populated area, and used tables are hard to find you should consider looking at this as an opportunity to upgrade to modern rods.  New rods have a much nicer glide, with shot timing/general feel exact to the bar or tournament tables you visit.  New rods are also a major selling point if the cabinet is in good shape.  They are worth it overall even in resale.