Author Topic: Can a team call a time out right after the other teams time out?  (Read 330 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Wakrob

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Can a team call a time out right after the other teams time out?
« on: February 21, 2020, 01:06:08 AM »
Team has it on the 3 ready to shoot and calls time out.  They come back to the table and ask ready...the OTHER team now says time out.

Legal?

Offline ShopTeacher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 90
Re: Can a team call a time out right after the other teams time out?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2020, 06:05:04 PM »
Rule books online somewhere. Just guessing tho... not legal. I think you need possession to call TO

Offline ShopTeacher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 90
Re: Can a team call a time out right after the other teams time out?
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2020, 06:10:57 PM »
"Each team is allowed two time outs per game during which the players may leave the table. Such time outs shall not exceed 30 seconds. If the ball is in play, time out may be called only by the team in possession of the ball, and then only if the ball is completely stopped. If the ball is not in play, either team may call time out."

also: "If the team not in possession of the ball calls a time out when the ball is in play, that team shall be charged with a distraction (see 18.2)."

Offline Wakrob

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can a team call a time out right after the other teams time out?
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2020, 05:40:29 PM »
Yeah but you can call a time out when the ball is not in play.  During a Time Out the ball is not considered in play.

Offline ShopTeacher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 90
Re: Can a team call a time out right after the other teams time out?
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2020, 09:52:46 AM »
Since it not in play yet, its legal.
"Ball in Play - Once a ball is put into play by the server (see 2), it shall remain in play until the ball is hit off the table, a dead ball is declared, time out is called, or a point is scored."