Foosball.com Forums

Remove a rusty screw from a Handle

Remove a rusty screw from a Handle
« on: April 05, 2015, 10:35:35 AM »
Hello,

I have a recently bought a Bonzini, and I would like to give it a clean.
I have 2 handles where the screw are completely rusty and the head of the screw completely altered

Does anybody has an advice on how I could remove them? I think I need to drill, but not sure if it is the right method and I am afraid to alter the bar.
Thanks
Nico

Re: Remove a rusty screw from a Handle
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2015, 04:54:05 PM »
I think your right about drilling. As an electrician I have to take apart a lot of lights ect that have been out in the elements. I don't have time to soak it in oil so I center punch the head then drill with a bit the size of the bolt or screw not the head . then you could pull off the handle. At that point you might try soaking it in oil to remove the shank of the screw with vise grips or pliers.if there is enough left to get a grip on.

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2015, 07:49:19 PM »
Remember, those screws have left-hand threads, so turn clockwise to loosen them. (if you've already removed the other screws, you probably know this already). I'd soak them with WD-40 for a day and then try again with a screwdriver before drilling. One benefit of drilling is that the clockwise motion of the drill bit will tend to loosen the screw.

Congratulations on purchasing a Bonzini. They are awesome tables. Would love to see some pics of the whole table!

« Last Edit: April 05, 2015, 07:51:06 PM by kgstewar »

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2015, 02:41:38 PM »
Turn your handles in completely clockwise. It will relieve any pressure placed on the backside of the screw. Then try to unscrew by going clockwise with your screwdriver.
If you are able to get the screws out, I would suggest never putting them back in. They are just for theft prevention. Torque is the only force that keeps the handles tightened.